shadows & light

Even when I was in my twenties and didn’t have a single wrinkle or sunspot, I always claimed, “You’re only as good as your lighting.” 

As my 45th birthday approaches for the second time, I now also realize whenever I am photographed I must not only be within 12 inches of the lens, I must be very, very careful in full daylight when next to anyone or anything younger than me.

My seeming vanity is nothing more than astonishment. My multitudinous selfies are little more than daily confirmations that I still exist. I trust all who know me know I am profoundly grateful for my blessings. And when I am in control of the lighting and holding the camera, I know quite a few tricks.

Leave a Reply

