An Affirmation 

Of the many things I mutter to myself throughout the day, the one that feels the best probably because I never imagined its possibility is, “I love my kid.”  

This is the kind of affirmation of sorts that springs from my lips at the oddest moments when I am alone. It is very similar to what I say to myself as I walk up the stairs to my flat anytime I have spent an afternoon or evening with my boyfriend or one of my adoptive brothers.

I mention this now because I sometimes wonder how many people truly know why I live my life where and how I do. 

I spent decades running around the world and anesthetizing myself. It was not until I reached Cambodia did I fully realize I had been searching all along for my home.

Leave a Reply

