my brother

Three months after I emigrated to Cambodia, a skinny 19 year old piece of rough trade moved into my house and forged a permanent place for himself in my heart.

20140517-190410.jpg For the first year, despite having his choice of bedrooms, he slept in my arms.

20140517-190650.jpg Thirteen years and a million memories later, David is as gorgeous to me now as he was on the day he said on the phone, “Open your door, I am outside waiting for you.”

20140517-191622.jpg Even if I were one to kiss and tell, the tender reality of my relationship with my adoptive brother defies all Western notions of relations and roles between men that I dare not attempt to describe it here and now.

20140517-192228.jpg It is enough to simply say I love my brother and many nights I still dream about holding him.

Leave a Reply

