are you an artist?

20140507-022510.jpg

The first time I truly felt comfortable acknowledging myself as an artist was at the age of 19, a curatorial assistant at the Tate Modern noticed the discernment with which I was viewing an exhibition of hers and asked me, “Are you an artist?” It felt oddly akin to being asked the now irrelevant question of the 80s, “Are you gay?” I was at a bit of a loss for words but managed to nod and say, “Yes, I am. Why do you ask?”

The truth is we are what we believe ourselves to be. Every artist, writer, and performer I have ever known and admired has created solely out of their essential compulsion to express themselves. I create simply because I must create not because I am motivated by any desire for acknowledgment or critical praise.

Once you learn how to separate yourself from all of the noise, you become remarkably liberated and all the more capable of creating evocative and meaningful works of personal expression.

Leave a Reply

